View CartMy Account / Order StatusHelp






Official PayPal Seal


NewPower99 is an Upfront Merchant on TheFind. Click for info.
(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to Garmin Nuvi 660 Battery Replacement Kit with Tools, Video Instructions, Extended Life Battery and Full One Year Warranty
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Battery June 28, 2014
Reviewer: David Allen from Pulaski, NY United States  
I recommend you read all the reviews many pointers. I did the process in a room with a light colored tile floor. Spring and holder flew out twice and it made it easy to find them. I used a small pointed awl to remove the spring. Screws are in VERY TIGHT. Screen ribbon came out of connection. It is a little work to reconnect, but can be done. One Philips screw would not come out and I stripped the head. Used a small blade jeweler's screw driver to remove it. Couldn't get it back in.
It took me about 1 1/2 hrs. I paused at each step and the screen froze up and I had to re-start the site and watch the video to the point I was at. I also studied each step closely.
Reassembly, turned on Garmin and every thing worked. I charge it for 5 hrs. With full charge I turned on the unit and left it on for 1 hr. Stayed on and the battery indicator still showed full charge.

If a 71+ year old can do this anyone can. Don't buy new get this battery.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Top Notch Product! January 3, 2014
Reviewer: Bill  
Your battery replacement kit that I purchased from you for my Garmin 660 is am awesome product!  Tools, battery, DVD = Top Notch

Thank you,

Bill

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Worked as promised April 23, 2013
Reviewer: Richard KM from Newark, CA United States  
Hi received  this in timely manner (shipped out same day)  - package came with tools and battery, no instruction, however the video on the website or Youtube is all you need.

Some tricky parts in opening the case ,
1) when trying to slide the spring cover to remove the receiver antenna - not sure how much force I could apply and the cover did not have a notch to get a grip on.
2) opening the cover I used a very thin blade flat head screwdriver to get it started. Then the tool worked fine.
3) would have been nice to have some double sided tape to hold the new battery down. (so minus a star)
4) re-assembling / reseating the pcb was tricky, make sure the battery is flat and in position before pushing. The pcb will need to go in at an angle (left side first) to allow it to reseat the connectors  (audio , usb etc) before pushing it home.

Overall, very satisfied after a charge looks like all is well with my Nuvi 660 again.
Thank you

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Almost as good as new June 19, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Warrenton, VA United States  
I am very pleased with the battery overall.  I just finished the install process and while it is as described, it is now quite as easy as it appears.  It was more difficult to remove most items than described, but to be fair it was an accurate and very complete description of the process.  As noted by another individual, the spring assembly did take some time to get loose.  Also, most of the screws were quite tightly seated, my main worry was stripping them.  But, at the end I got them all out and all is well, with the exception of the two screws under the GPS swing unit.  Frankly, it was pretty tightly held together and I was more worried about stripping the screws putting them in and having them be raised, so I kept them but didn't reinstall them.  So be it.  I also had trouble getting the two circuit board screws back in flush.  I ended up putting two pieces of electrical tape to avoid the screws touching the circuitry.  All in all the described 15 minutes took me 1 1/2 hour,

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great tutorial - all went smoothly! May 20, 2012
Reviewer: Tony Dilores from Redmond, WA United States  
Real-time on line instructions were great - job was finished in about 15 minutes.  Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
No Brainer!!! May 8, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Garmin makes a terrific product, but they should provide a way to replace the battery.  Batteries (in any device) just don't perform past 2-3 years very well.  My battery has not been working very well/at all for years (4 years?).   If I unplugged it from the cigarette lighter charger, it would barely have enough power to make it the 30 second warning for shutdown..

The tools, battery and (most importantly) instructional video on you-tube made the replacement brainless.  The battery replacement took me all of :10.  The only problem I had was the (micro/miny) magnet that lets the unit know that the antenna isn't flipped open came unglued and required a little super glue to fix that.

I would say that unless you are comfortable with small screws, small tools, electronics then you should let NewPower99 do the replacement.  Otherwise, go for it!  Just take it careful and slow, don't force anything.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent value and instructions! October 14, 2011
Reviewer: Zee H. from Piscataway, NJ United States  
The item arrived promptly.  I am mechanically challenged somewhat but just by looking at the instruction video, I installed the new battery in about 15 minutes.
My original Garmin battery was not holding charge and I was about to get a newer model but getting this kit extended my Nuvi's life and made the lifetime subscription to maps worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Marketing Matches Performance June 18, 2011
Reviewer: David Johnson from Anchorage, AK United States  
This was a nearly painless way to make change the battery.  I had been wondering if it was possible to get inside the case and change the battery, and the online video gave me the confidence to know I could do this.

When I started the process and had subassemblies hanging by threads, it felt like a death or glory operation.  But I referred to the video multiple times and it all went back together fairly smoothly.  

The spring was a bit complicated....I couldn't quite figure out where to push it.  A sharper tool might have helped, but I was able to use the small included Phillips screwdriver.  

In the end, it took about 15 minutes and all seems to be working as expected.  I'm really pleased with the ease of this.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
It is nice when things work like they should. May 31, 2011
Reviewer: Bradford Seward from Mountain House, CA United States  
I was a little nervous about opening the Nuvi, but it went great. Only took about 15 minutes, and did not have any cables come off that were not suppose to. It did not come with a video, which others received, but with no optical drive, on my netbook, it was easier to just view the video on the web site. The tools fit perfectly, and never slipped, even with the very tight screws. It is working fine, and charging now. I would definitely recommend this to everyone. It even arrived several days ahead of the scheduled date.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Garmin Nuvi 660 Battery Replacement May 7, 2011
Reviewer: Brad from Centerville, OH United States  
Absolutely amazing !  My Garmin 660 works when plugged into the dash, but has not held a charge for over a year.  I ordered the replacement battery from NewPower99.com, and within a week it arrived, along with tools for making the install simple.  Within an hour, my Garmin was fully operational, just like new, once again.  Thank you NewPower99.  Brad

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
NewPower99.com

 About Us
 Become an Affiliate
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback
 
Company Info | Advertising | Product Index | Category Index | Help | Terms of Use
Copyright © NewPower99.com. All Rights Reserved.
Built with Volusion

Built with Volusion

Shopping Cart Software by Volusion